The Shimmering Dead End
Thoughts on the packaging and sale of nonduality

Inattentional blindness and nondual occlusion

Today I experienced a spectacular instance of inattentional blindness. Driving to the home supply store, I took a different route than my usual. I was picturing that the road I was on would be just south of the store I was heading to. When I came to the intersection and looked north, I saw a different store. So, without looking right, I made the left turn and went north in search. I soon realized that the home supply store was at the intersection I turned left at, only it was just to the right. It must have been clear as a bell in my peripheral vision, but because my mind’s map had it to the north of the intersection, I didn’t even bother to look.

This is perhaps more telling of my mental condition than what I’d really like to say, which is that nondual occlusion is just like inattentional blindness, and may even be a special case of it. By holding the ideas generated by the folk theories about our own nondual awareness, our attention is steered away from what’s always right there. We aren’t looking there because we’re imaging that it’s something else entirely, our idea of it. The truth is that anything we can imagine will always be something else entirely.

No Responses to “Inattentional blindness and nondual occlusion”

Leave a Reply

